Article Tools

Font size
Share This

Photo: N/A, License: N/A, Created: 2018:01:23 15:41:18

The Belles of St. Mary’s donned their favorite 1870s-era dresses for Avoca’s centennial celebration in 1971. First row, from left, are Anna Langan, Marguerite O’Brien, Mary Claire Doran, Winifred McTigue, sheriff; Margaret Houston, president; Anna Frew, governor; Grace Johnson, treasurer; Dorothy McDonough, Grace Nolan and Peggy Callahan. Second row: Stasia Champ, Catherine Marley, Mary O’Brien, Mary Boris, Rita Reardon, Nan Carroll, Betty Scaramastro, Emma Meehan, Ella Tobin, Getrude Knuth, Doris Kelly and Natalie Philbin. Third row: Mae Mullen, secretary; Mary Dooner, Mildred Monk, Nora Corcoran, Mary Murphy, Helen Rouse, Marie Zaludek, Mary Hart, Mary McCarthy and Tess O’Malley. From the Avoca centennial booklet, 1971.